Friday, November 16, 2012

Democrats choose key leaders

There were no surprises today when the House Democrats gathered to begin selecting their leadership team for the next two years. 
House Speaker Frank Chopp

Re-elected without opposition were:
• Frank Chopp (Seattle): House Speaker-designate
• Pat Sullivan (Covington): Majority Leader 
• Eric Pettigrew (Seattle): Majority Caucus Chair
• Kevin Van De Wege (Sequim): Majority Whip
• Tami Green (Lakewood): Majority Floor Leader

The remaining members of the HDC Leadership team, including the Speaker pro tem-designate, will be elected at a future date. 

The Speaker-designate and Speaker pro tem-designate must be elected by the entire House on the first day of the 2013 session.

To read this story in Spanish, please click here.